Bank Holidays May 2022: Banking operations to remain shut on 4 days, but not Online banking


Bank Holidays May 2022: According to the bank holidays list released by the RBI, banking operations will remain shut for 4 days in the month. However, online banking will remain open 24×7.

Bank Holidays May 2022: Do you have any planned bank related work to be completed in the month of May? If yes, you need to know that the banks will remain closed for 4 days in the month, except for the second and fourth Saturdays and Sundays. Banks play a very vital role in managing and dealing with our finances. You need to visit bank branches to get several banking activities done like depositing money, updating passbook, transferring amount and much more. Though the banks will remain shut for 4 days in May, you can use online or internet banking on these days as well.

Online banking operations remain open 24×7. However, as not all banking activities are possible to be completed with the help of the internet, you may have to make a visit to your nearest bank branch. It can be known that the bank holidays list is released by the Reserve Bank of India (RBI). As per the information provided by the RBI, the bank holidays in May fall under three categories- Holiday under Negotiable Instruments Act; Holiday under Negotiable Instruments Act and Real Time Gross Settlement Holiday; and Banks’ Closing of Accounts.

Also read: Looking for a smartphone? To check mobile finder click here.

Also, some holidays are national in character and others are regional. While, on certain specific days, banks will be closed in just a few cities. Check out the list of bank holidays in May here:

Bank Holidays in May 2022

1. May 2, 2022: The banks will remain closed on May 2 due to Ramjan-Eid (Eid-UI-Fitra) in Kochi and Thiruvananthapuram.

2. May 3, 2022: The banks will remain closed on the occasion of Bhagvan Shree Parshuram Jayanti/Ramjan-Eid (Eid-UI-Fitra)/Basava Jayanti/Akshaya Tritiya in all parts of the country except for Kochi and Thiruvananthapuram.

3. May 9, 2022: The banks will remain closed on the occasion of the Birthday of Rabindranath Tagore in Kolkata.

4. May 16, 2022: The banks will remain closed on the occasion of Buddha Purnima in Agartala, Belapur, Bhopal, Chandigarh, Dehradun, Jammu, Kanpur, Kolkata, Lucknow, Mumbai, Nagpur, New Delhi, Raipur, Ranchi, Shimla, and Srinagar.

Apart from the above mentioned dates, the banks will also remain shut on May 14, 2022 and May 28, 2022 due to second and fourth Saturdays and on May 1, 8, 15, 22, and 29 because of Sundays.

Source link