WhatsApp is working on the ability to let the users hide their online status. The feature will come in a future update of WhatsApp beta for Android, iOS, and Desktop. Check details.
WhatsApp lets its users know the last seen and online status of other users by going to the person’s private chat. WhatsApp users can change who can see their last seen to everyone, my contacts, my contacts except, or nobody. However, the online status is visible to everyone and cannot be controlled as of now from the app’s settings. But, as per the latest information, the online messaging platform is working on the ability to hide the online status. WABetaInfo informed about the same by tweeting, “WhatsApp is working on the ability to hide the online status! WhatsApp is finally listening to user feedback by developing a feature that lets us choose who can see when we are online on WhatsApp!”
It can be known that last seen and online tell you the last time your contacts used WhatsApp, or if they are online. As per the information shared by WABetaInfo via a report, the feature to select who can see when you are online or not will come in a future update of WhatsApp beta for Android, iOS, and Desktop. It can be known that WhatsApp users have been requesting the hide online status feature for long time.
The request for the same can be based on several reasons like- they may not want to be disturbed by other people, or if they feel stalked by someone, among others. According to the information, once the feature that lets users choose who can see when they are online rolls out, WhatsApp users will be able to find it right within WhatsApp Privacy Settings.
Also Read: WhatsApp Update: Redesigned context menu, new delete messages limit rolled out
Sharing a screenshot, WABetaInfo said, “it will be possible to configure who can see when we are online right within our last seen settings thanks to two new options: “Everyone” and “Same as Last Seen”. For example, if you choose “My contacts” for “Last Seen” and “Same as Last Seen” for “online”, it means non-contacts won’t be able to see when you’re online.”
However, it can be known that the exact date for the release of the feature is not yet known and this feature is under development as of now.